Normally I avoid 'In-App Purchase' games like the plague

Hi all,

New poster/player/game supporter here, as the subject above, I’m surprised to be here, I normally wouldn’t give this game time of day, due to me hating the IAP model (it’s a good business model for greed). But since I love Diablo, Titan quest on PC etc I read a recommendation on a website about this game being great (and the game developer replying to that comment!) and I weakened so here I am.

The game is great, I bought the $9.99 pack to support the developer (and unlock a couple of player slots).

Supporting the developer I don’t mind (and I put my money where my mouth is), paying up front for a quality product, again I don’t mind (and I prefer), but IAP stuff I normally hate. I’m not too experienced yet, and can only hope that the IAP model doesn’t get too obtrusive later down the road, I.e. ‘you can only get this gear via IAP’ ‘you can only unlock this char/pet via IAP’ etc etc and lead to disappointment.

I know, I know, cynicism doesn’t become me! But I can’t help it as I’m old :wink:

Cheers all.

Tony.

4 Likes

Hey Tony, welcome to our forums and thank you very much for the support :smile:

I feel you on avoiding IAP games, especially when they have pay walls and timers. We try to be the least pay-wall-y as possible, by offering a free character to level as high as you want, with no content locked.

Do you remember which site you saw us recommended on?

Hope you enjoy your stay here!

1 Like

Thank you for the welcome.

Here is where I finally caved in to ‘buy’ the game…

http://www.reddit.com/r/AndroidGaming/comments/1z2e0u/favorite_nocrappyiap_diablotorchlight_clones/

I’m a bit miffed that some of the pets you have to buy in the game, but aside from that I’m having a blast at work (when I should be doing something more important!) :smile:

Cheers,

Tony.