Rogue-like mode

I’ve been playing this game for over 3 years now and to be honest I’ve hit a bit of a wall.

I was thinking about features that could be implemented into the game for players (such as myself) who are finding it hard to push to the upper floors.

Having a mode that rewards skill and good knowledge of the game with high quality loot (or maybe not even a mode maybe this could function sort of like maps where you could find a key to this challenge) would be perfect.

Idea

A 1-life mode where you start with no loot and have to navigate your way through a few floors (maybe 20). After every 5 floors you have a choice:
  1. keep going for better loot
  2. exit the dungeon with some of your aquired loot (maybe be allowed to choose 1 item to keep for every floor you've done, ie. if you leave at floor 10 you can transfer 10 items to the actual game

If you complete all floors then you get to transfer all your loot to your main characters in the actual game.

How to enter mode

I don't think a 1-life mode where you can permanently lose your main character would be any fun so I think you should enter the mode through the main menu where you will start the mode with a new (temporary) character (at whatever level your key drop is - next paragraph).

Of course this could lead to exploitation (as why would you ever farm normally if you could just play 1-life for the high drop rates) so there should be some fee to start playing it: not gold but some sort of rare ‘key’ drop from the normal game, so instead of this mode being a replacement to the main game it would act more like a legendary map - great if your lucky enough to find it.

Rewards

As I previously said I think the main incentive of this mode should be the high drop rates and the risk/reward as to whether or not to cash out or to continue on in the hopes of finding better loot.