What item is best to use for enchanting?

I’m new to enchanting, and I’m trying to figure out the best way to proceed. What stats on an item do you look for before you begin the enchanting process? Should it be level 100? or 20+ quality? or certain affixes?

Item level isn’t so important, because one crystal can jump alot at a time. I’d say anything in the ballpark of 80 +/- should be easy to max to 100. Quality is way more important IMO because you get 1 and only 1 per crystal. I’m not sure the max value you can find naturally, I’ve found up to 10%, and that is most likely the top end. I look for 5% usually, less is acceptable if it already has some affixes you want. Other than that just lookout for items with hard to get affixes on that you want, and go from there. Good luck.

Thanks for the reply. Do the affixes really matter (the latter advice in your post) if they will be re-rolled, as in this suggestion from another thread?

[quote=“JesteR”]
Use Peridot(s) to get item to max ilvl.
Increasing item quality is a must if the item has a lot of affix’s with large ranges of numbers.

First I add all the affix’s with stats that wont change, like green Set affix and socketed mythstones.
Secondly I add crystal affix, this will have the largest number range.
Next add affix’s with small number ranges, like multi attack (1-2), so much easier to reroll perfect using diamond at this stage, concentrate on the crystal affix to be perfect, and then check on the affixs like multi attack which can only be 1 or 2.
Lastly I would add epic affixs, as they can be re rolled separately using a Fluroite.

If its an item with a lot of affixs with large number ranges, wear high luck% gear, max ilvl, max out quality, get your self a huge stack of diamonds and keep rerolling and hope the RNG gods are kind to you, praying to RNGeesus helps a lot :wink: